InTime Server

Manage User Access to Results on the InTime Server

43 views January 8, 2019 January 10, 2019 Michael 0

Use InTime Server’s Access Control List (ACL) to manage user access to InTime results across different projects and designers. Only users with access to specific projects will be able to import, export, and sync results with the InTime Server. This ACL feature is available from InTime Server version 2.6.x onwards.

The following topics are covered in this guide:

  1. How to access the InTime Server ACL
  2. Add / Remove User
  3. Add / Remove a User from Project
  4. Create Groups
  5. Add / Remove User from Group
  6. Add / Remove Group from Project

How to access the InTime Server ACL

The ACL portal should be accessed using a browser. The address of the ACL portal is <InTimeServer IP>:39946.
E. g. If your InTime Server’s IP address is 192.168.0.1, type 192.168.0.1:34496 into the browser.

A login prompt will appear. The login credentials can be found in acl.txt in the InTime Server installation directory.

Add / Remove User

Upon successful login, the main page shows a list of users currently in the ACL (empty at the beginning).

To delete an existing user, click ‘Delete’.

To add a user, click the ‘Add Users’ link.

Create a user with the same user name as the InTime user. You can also add an email address as well as more details about the user as well.
Click ‘Submit’ to add the user.


Add / Remove a User from Project

To add a user to a project, click the “ACL (User)” submenu. A list of the projects whose results have been uploaded to the InTime Server will be shown.
Users who have access to those projects will be displayed as well. Click “Edit” to add or remove users from a project.

Users that do not have access to a project will be displayed in the left-hand side panel. Users that already have access to the project will be displayed on the right.

To add a user to the project, click the user’s name in the left-hand side panel, followed by the right arrow. This user now has access to this project.

To remove a user from a project, click the user’s name in the right-hand side panel, followed by the left arrow. This user now no longer has access to this project.


Create Groups

The InTime Server ACL allows the creation of groups, which makes it much easier to manage multiple users. Any user can belong to multiple groups.
Use groups to quickly add or remove access to projects for multiple users.

To view existing groups, click the “Groups” submenu.

To delete a group, click “Delete”.

To add a group, click “Add Group”. Specify a group name and press ‘Submit’.


Add / Remove User from Group

To add or remove a user from a group, click the “Group Actions” submenu. Click the “Edit” link of the group to modify.

In the subsequent page, users who are not in the group are listed in the left-hand side panel. Users who are already in the group will be listed on the right.

To add a user to this group, click the user’s name in the left-hand side panel, followed by the right arrow. This user is now a part of this group.

To remove a user from the group, click the user’s name in the right-hand side panel, followed by the left arrow. This user is now no longer part of this group.

Add / Remove Group From Project

Use this feature to enable or disable user or group access for a project.

To add a group to a project, click the “ACL (User)” submenu. A list of projects that have been uploaded to the InTime Server will be shown. Users and groups that have access that projects will be displayed as well. Groups can be identified by the ‘@’ sign in front of the group name. Click “Edit” to add or remove users or groups to/from a project.

In the resulting page, users and groups that do not have access to the project will be displayed on the left. Users and groups that have access to the project will be displayed on the right.

To add a group to a project, click on the group’s name in the left-hand side panel, followed by the right arrow. This group and its associated users now have access to this project.

To remove a group from the project, click on the group’s name on the right, followed by the left arrow. This group and its associated users no longer have no access to the project.

Leave a Reply